Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
square is too small, now what? >

square is too small, now what?

square is too small, now what?

Old 09-17-2016, 05:04 AM

Default square is too small, now what?

I'm a novice. I'm making my second quilt, an I spy quilt. I am starting to put the rows together and they don't fit. I measured it and one of my charms is 4 3/4 inches instead of 5". It's too much to ease in. I tried that. I decided to try to reduce the seams on the charm toward the bottom of the charm and see if I can fit it in, as I laid it out and the colors work where they are (I can't replace this color). Will it look wonky? Am I better off just to tear it all the way out and replace it with another light color?

I may run into this again, so I need a plan of action. I got many of these charms in a swap, so there may be others. (Now I know why the there are swaps for 4" charms.) I thought I had caught all those that were off, but obviously not.

This is one of those experience things - you learn from your mistakes. I'll not use swap charms again without measuring each and everyone of them.

bkay
Old 09-17-2016, 05:14 AM

I think you should just give that charm a small border. And, trim it if you have to, to size. I really doubt you'll notice it. I piece fabric together all the time. And, once you quilt it, you never really notice it. You'll know it's there. Just don't point it out. Just own whatever way you choose to fix it. And everyone else will go along with it. An I'SPY is a very forgiving quilt.
Old 09-17-2016, 05:56 AM

Maybe a border on two edges, the bottom and one side, so you don't lose too much of the focus fabric, and then trim to size.
Old 09-17-2016, 05:57 AM
Power Poster