Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
squaring fabric >

squaring fabric

squaring fabric

Old 04-07-2016, 02:22 PM

Default squaring fabric

I'm a newbie to quilting. I've been doing a lot of cutting the last few days for multiple projects. I'm having a really hard time squaring fabrics. I've been ripping to get the straight of the grain. If I square to that, then the selvage is off. I think know that the selvage has to be on the straight of the grain. I've pulled some of the lighter weight cottons into square by pulling on the bias. It helps sometimes.

I have a Robert Kaufman print that I washed last week. I ripped off 1/3 yard for some 5" squares for a swap. I got it fairly straight with pulling on the bias. I decided to use the rest of it for another swap. After pressing it with a vodka/water spritz, the ripped edge is an inch off square from the fold to the selvage without pulling on the bias.

All of the swaps say to cut on the grain. Sometimes it's hard to figure out exactly what the straight is. Do people just ignore it and cut anyway? Is there some trick or method I need to know about? Is it the way I'm pressing?

bkay
Old 04-07-2016, 02:35 PM

I use this method and it seems to work well for me so far...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EcpzwJMVTbc
Old 04-07-2016, 02:57 PM
Power Poster

Squaring fabric has a bit different definition in quilting vs. garment construction. When making a garment, you need to spend a lot of time getting the fabric trued up so that it will drape correctly. With quilting, you want to get it close, but it doesn't need to be as exact. Holding the fabric piece with selvedges together along the top and looking at how evenly it hangs is the standard method, as described in the video. I prefer not to make the second fold, so I work with a 22" length.
Old 04-07-2016, 03:30 PM
Power Poster