Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 58

Thread: Stacking fabrics then rotary cutting...

  1. #1
    Senior Member blzzrdqueen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    570
    I'm starting a the Crazy Eights pattern and it tells me to make the cutting go faster, to stack my fat quarters 4 thick then cut. I notice that when I do that, my squares/patches are not accurate...am I doing something wrong?

  2. #2
    Power Poster erstan947's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    12,063
    Blog Entries
    47
    I have never mastered that stack cutting. I usually stick with 2. I'm usually not in any hurry. I enjoy the whole process:)

  3. #3
    Super Member bamamama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Madison, AL
    Posts
    2,003
    Need to change the blade your rotary cutter maybe? I stack em really high sometimes but I change my blade often.

  4. #4
    Senior Member ddrobins1956's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    356
    I've seen this advice in patterns also, but, for me, I know that I can not be accurate of I stack more than a double thickness. And I've found that cutting accurately is very important to the outcome of a nice block with seams matching and points not getting lost in seam allowance. I'm sure there are quilters that can cut 4 or more thicknesses and stay accurate, but it doesn't work for me.

  5. #5
    Super Member quiltinghere's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    NW IN
    Posts
    3,399
    Blog Entries
    1
    In my experience I need a the larger rotary cutter and a sharp blade. Wear a cut proof glove, press down firmly on the ruler and make sure your perpendicular to the ruler (not slanting).

  6. #6
    Senior Member blzzrdqueen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    570
    Quote Originally Posted by bamamama
    Need to change the blade your rotary cutter maybe? I stack em really high sometimes but I change my blade often.
    I actually have a new blade on my cutter, I changed the blade right before I started cutting. After the first few cuts, I started cutting my strips just a tad bigger so I can just trim the pieces down.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Southern , Virginia
    Posts
    1,515
    To cut 4 layers you need a larger rotary cutter and a new blade and they cut just fine.

  8. #8
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,478
    I use the biggest rotary cutter for more than 2 layers. I think it's 60 mm.

  9. #9
    Super Member cherylynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,748
    I've stacked and it works great, but if you make a bad cut you've made more than one mistake. I've had to change my plans because I was distracted and cut wrong.

  10. #10
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,113
    Blog Entries
    1
    Press the first piece of fabric, stack the second one on top and then press it, the third and fourth one too.
    Pressing them in this manner seems to make them stick to each other, and can make cutting through a stack more accurate. :D:D:D

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.