Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 58

Thread: Steam or dry iron for pressing squares

  1. #1
    Super Member watson's mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Maidstone, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    2,182
    Is there a difference or a 'rule' for using or not using steam for pressing squares. Also, how do I get rust out of my iron, I always forget to empty my iron when I am done. not smart to do that. Thanks you in advance.

  2. #2
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,114
    Blog Entries
    1
    Pressing with steam may distort your blocks. I use steam, but I do starch my fabrics before cutting, so it isn't an issue. :D:D:D

  3. #3
    Super Member grammy Dwynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,950
    Blog Entries
    2
    I use steam 95% of the time, but when working with bias cut/blocks I try to remember "no steam". IMHO it is a personal choice.

    Rusty iron ~ If it was me . . . replace it! I would be so afraid that when I am working on my light colored quilts, that is when it will spurt it's rust . . grrr

  4. #4
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,478
    I agree about replacing the iron. I never heard of rust in them! I also use a dry iron for pressing blocks.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Yulee Florida
    Posts
    1,075
    ditch the rusted iron I press with steam on everything except stuff I have starched.

  6. #6
    Super Member JUNEC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    3,203
    I would replace your iron - I always press with steam

  7. #7
    Super Member watson's mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Maidstone, Ont. Canada
    Posts
    2,182
    Thank you to everyone. I have a brand new iron still in the box, guess I will be getting it out. That makes the most sense, I just hate to part with this one. Oh well.
    Thanks again. Carol

  8. #8
    Junior Member chiaraquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    210
    I find I have less distortion with starch and a dry iron.

  9. #9
    Super Member raptureready's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    5,305
    Probably not the iron that's rusted but calcium/water deposit build up. ALWAYS use distilled water in your iron. My favorite iron is one that I picked up at Dollar General for $9. It steams well or the steam can be turned off, it's lightwieght even when filled with water and it's teflon coated.

  10. #10
    Super Member JUNEC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    3,203
    When I starch my fabric - I get a build up of what appears to be starch on the bottom of my iron - what causes that the happen? How do you remove it.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.