Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Stitch Regulators >

Stitch Regulators

Stitch Regulators

Old 01-11-2013, 11:44 AM

Default Stitch Regulators

I've been quilting for a couple of years now and I think I'm ready to move into a nicer machine. I'm probably going to try buying something used, though I really don't know what I can get in my price range (I have about $1000 saved, and I'd be happy to wait until I have another $1000 saved if that gets me a nicer machine ... though I don't know if I'm willing to go much beyond that. I still have to buy groceries.)

I really like the idea of a stitch regulator. I know it's training wheels, but my FMQ is really terrible. Really, really terrible.

So three questions: 1) if you've used a stitch regulator, do you like them? 2) is it even possible to get a used machine in that price range that includes a stitch regulator? And 3) does anyone have a suggestion for a particular machine I should be shopping for?

Thank you!
Old 01-11-2013, 11:47 AM
Power Poster

As far as I know, the Bernina is the only domestic sewing machine that has a stitch regulator.
Old 01-11-2013, 12:06 PM

Baby lock just released a stitch regulator that you can use for a few of the high end machines but you have purchase it separately.
Old 01-11-2013, 12:30 PM
Power Poster

I watched the video for the Babylock stitch regulator. I can't quite figure out what it does. If I understood correctly, there's a control that you have to set for machine speed, and also stitches per inch. The woman in the video had to stop and change the machine speed setting when she wanted to go slower (to make a smaller quilting design). I don't understand that. To me, the purpose of a stitch regulator is to automatically change the machine's speed so that you get consistent stitch length. That's what the BSR does, that's what the SR on my longarm does. Does anyone have experience with the Babylock SR?
Old 01-11-2013, 12:50 PM