Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: strip piece or cut into squares?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    424
    Blog Entries
    22
    The instructions say to sew two 5" strips together. Then cut into 5" units. I have cut one piece into a 5" strip. I also had to fussy cut 5"squares out of the pattern piece.

    Question is do I now cut the long piece into squares and sew squares together? Or do I lay the pattern pieces on top of the long strip and trim later?

    I am thinking of doing the squares and not having to trim.

  2. #2
    Super Member bjnicholson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Cleveland OH
    Posts
    3,250
    Blog Entries
    1
    What pattern are you working on? Sounds like you should have two (2) 5" strips that you sew together. I think you need to read your pattern a little further to see what you do with the 5" fussy cut squares. JMOH

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    424
    Blog Entries
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by bjnicholson
    What pattern are you working on? Sounds like you should have two (2) 5" strips that you sew together. I think you need to read your pattern a little further to see what you do with the 5" fussy cut squares. JMOH
    The pattern uses two plain strips. I cut horses and cowboys out of my second strip. There are no fussy cuts in the pattern. My decision was to highlight the cowboys and horses, so I have 5" squares to join with strip #1. I think joining two squares would be easier that sewing the squares to the strip and trimming the joined unit to 5".

  4. #4
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,113
    Blog Entries
    1
    You sew the two strips together, and then it says to subcut them into 5" strips.
    It sounds like these might be for a 4 patch unit? :D:D:D

  5. #5
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,365
    Blog Entries
    20
    If you cut your 2nd fabric into squares I would cut the first into squares and then make your 2 patch units.

  6. #6
    Junior Member quilterken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    266
    Although I'm a big fan of strip piecing, sometimes it is better to cut the exact size, then sew together. I always cut strips the correct length for log cabin blocks.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    424
    Blog Entries
    22
    Thanks for the info. I am going to go with the two exact size pieces. It was my first thought, nice to have confirmation before I cut the fabric. Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.