Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Stupid Mistake!!

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,211

    Angry Stupid Mistake!!

    After reading posts on here about FMQ I realized I had not adjusted my stitch length to zero. So I adjusted it....I thought! I adjusted the tension to zero and have to rip out two long rows!! Uugghhh!!

  2. #2
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,362
    So sorry!!!!!!

  3. #3
    Super Member JulieR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Emmitsburg, MD
    Posts
    1,605
    Ugh! Some days, I'm more of a ripper with periodic fits of quilting. No fun!

  4. #4
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    24,465
    I had to take some quilting out, I didn't pay attention and thread was not threaded right. When I was checking it was stitching very well. Checking to make sure it was threaded right I noticed that was the problem. I had cleaned, oiled and changed the needle. This quilt is fast, easy and goes together rather quickly, it has taken me longer than it should have. Being gone a couple days, having trouble with the internet and having to have a repairman at the house most of Sunday didn't help. Oh well, it will get done soon.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  5. #5
    Junior Member alderdweller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    191
    No fun! Just got done doing that myself a few days ago, only because I caught up part of the edge under the quilt!
    I guess it can't all be pleasure

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    238
    I am certified champ and ripping stitches out. Had way to much experience with it.

  7. #7
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    20,548
    If you are FMQ, you are controlling the stitch length. I don't change mine from regular stitching but then I have a Bernina with a stitch regulator.

  8. #8
    Super Member Crqltr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,892
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Tartan View Post
    If you are FMQ, you are controlling the stitch length. I don't change mine from regular stitching but then I have a Bernina with a stitch regulator.
    I don't change my stitch length either, with the feed dogs dropped it should not matter. It would all depend on your speed of movement and machine speed.

  9. #9
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    13,065
    Blog Entries
    1
    What a bummer! It depends on the machine whether the stitch length goes to zero or not. With my Baby Lock, I have to set the stitch-length to 3.5 or 4 to get a decent FMQ stitch. My Pfaff needs to go to zero.
    Martina
    Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Fabric!

  10. #10
    Super Member Stitchnripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    6,432
    Sorry to hear. My name says it all about what I spend a lot of time doing!!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.