Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Tables >

Tables

Tables

Old 01-08-2010, 10:40 AM

As a new quilter, did you have a special table for your machine?

I am just starting out and am beginning to realize there is no way I can sew comfortably with my machine on my computer table because there isn't enough room. The office is small and I share it with my fiance and his computer. We both have 2 monitors so table space is at a premium.

I'm thinking about moving my machine and other quilting stuff upstairs to the guest room. I'm stuck about what kind of table to put it on. I don't want to spend a lot of money. I could get a folding table off craigslist or at Costco, or if it's worth it, spend more and get a special sewing table.

What kind of table do you use? How much did it cost? Where did you buy it?

Thanks!
Old 01-08-2010, 10:41 AM

I got a large folding table and it works fine for me. I got it from Target or Walmart for about $50.00.
Old 01-08-2010, 10:55 AM

Originally Posted by Angie
I got a large folding table and it works fine for me. I got it from Target or Walmart for about $50.00.
Ditto. I bought two from BJs (about $50) and have them long side to long side (I have a sewing room). When I'm quilting all the layers together, it's great -- lot's of room. But, I find the one I use for cutting is a bit too short (I'm 5'11") and I'm thinking of using risers to make it higher.
Old 01-08-2010, 11:03 AM

BJ's has height adjustable melamine tables that would work great as sewing tables. I have one that is 2'X4' and have it on the highest height for a cutting table, but would put it at the lowest height to put the machine on. It's small enough that it's easy to carry and take with you on retreats.
Old 01-08-2010, 11:06 AM

Originally Posted by Quilter7x