Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Tee Shirt Quilt - I'm a newbie >

Tee Shirt Quilt - I'm a newbie

Tee Shirt Quilt - I'm a newbie

Old 12-10-2011, 11:16 AM

Default Tee Shirt Quilt - I'm a newbie

Hiya, I am planning a tee shirt quilt for my parents of their old Harley Davidson tee shirts. My mother-in-law has helped with quilt ideas before but I'd like a more specific question answered. I need to buy the interfacing for the tee shirts but I don't know what weight to buy. My mother-in-law said not a heavy one, but that doesn't help me. There a lot of options; medium weight, featherweight, so-soft, etc. Suggestions?

My parents are plannig on using the quilt as display only, but I'd like it to be soft enough for use should they ever want to use it too. Thanks again. K
Old 12-10-2011, 11:21 AM

The best interfacing to use for T-shirts is the iron-on tricot. It's lightweight which makes it easy to quilt through and if you apply it so the stretch on the interfacing is perpendicular to the stretch on the T-shirts, it really helps to keep the blocks from distorting. You can get it at JoAnns and lots of places on line.
Old 12-10-2011, 11:22 AM

You just need enough stabilization that the fabric doesn't stretch when you are sewing. The lighest weight is the softest!
Old 12-10-2011, 11:54 AM

Ok! Thanks. I am going to go to Hobby Lobby and see what they have. It's closer than JoAnns. LOL. Thanks!
Old 12-10-2011, 11:55 AM

Originally Posted by Pam S View Post
The best interfacing to use for T-shirts is the iron-on tricot. It's lightweight which makes it easy to quilt through and if you apply it so the stretch on the interfacing is perpendicular to the stretch on the T-shirts, it really helps to keep the blocks from distorting. You can get it at JoAnns and lots of places on line.
What do you mean "stretch on interfacing?" Do you mean the grain? Thanks.
Old 12-10-2011, 01:01 PM