Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Template question

Joe
    Why do people prefer templates over measuring and cutting? Is it for precision or is it speed, or something else?

Blog Entries
    Good question Joe. Hopefully some of the veterans will give us a zillion ideas. I prefer cutting my fabric strips and blocks on my rotary cutting mat with my rotary cutter and my trusty 'June Taylor' Shape cut ruler. I started learning to make the Cathedral Window quilt this weekend. It calls for a template so I can iron the outer edges of my base square over the edge of template. That is the best use I have had for a template.

I learned to piece 18 years ago :shock:

we drew our templates, cut them out, traced around them onto fabric, drew the seam allowance and cut our block pieces, hand sewed them together too.

didn't have rotary cutters to begin with

now I will use ANY fast cutting/piecing method to get my stuff done

...although I really like fussy cutting some things with an old fashioned window template and pencil

my time is somewhat limited with 8 kids at home though :thumbup:

Quote Originally Posted by Joe
    Why do people prefer templates over measuring and cutting? Is it for precision or is it speed, or something else?

Templates are typically used more for odd shapes that aren't necessarily easy to cut with a straight ruler. Think diamonds, tumblers, circular shapes. There are quite a few shapes where templates are much easier to use.

Templates are also easier to use for some scrap quilts, when you are trying to use odd-shaped leftovers that don't lend themselves to strip piecing. I combine techniques and tape the template to a ruler and still rotary cut the pieces.

Quote Originally Posted by studio-christine
    I learned to piece 18 years ago :shock: