Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Thread basting tip >

Thread basting tip

Thread basting tip

Old 02-01-2013, 05:32 PM

Default Thread basting tip

Not a lot of you do the hand basting thing anymore but I am pretty new to quilting, my first quilt I pinned; this one I am thread basting; (will be hand quilting) My husband made a riser and sheet of plywood on my table so I don't have to bend so much; I did put sheet on the plywood then placed and tightened my back and sandwiched; my tip is this; I have a curved needle (that I used for sewing turkey shut) and it just works so much easier than a straight needle; since I have the sheet on the plywood, I just slip my cutting mat under the area that I am currently basting so as not to catch the sheet. Hope this may help someone who still uses thread basting.
Old 02-01-2013, 05:35 PM

One of those tips, that makes you go...now why didn't i think of that!!! Thanks!
Old 02-01-2013, 05:38 PM

Excellent tip. Is the purple avatar quilt your first one? You really are off to a great start for a newbie! And nice that your husband is right there to help you get set up.
Old 02-01-2013, 06:07 PM

I don't thread baste (by hand) anymore because of the longarm, but I always got my best results and found pleasure in doing so before.
Old 02-01-2013, 06:08 PM
Power Poster

You can also put a marble under your backing fabric and move it around as you thread bast to give you enough slack for the needle. Nice of your husband to raise up your basing surface to save your back.
Old 02-01-2013, 06:55 PM

Originally Posted by LynnVT View Post
Excellent tip. Is the purple avatar quilt your first one? You really are off to a great start for a newbie! And nice that your husband is right there to help you get set up.
Yes, the purple quilt was my first (then I did do a small easy peasy teddy bear baby quilt in between the one I am now working on.) Thanks!
Old 02-01-2013, 07:37 PM