Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Thread Color? >

Thread Color?

Thread Color?

Old 01-28-2014, 05:02 AM

Default Thread Color?

I am new to quilting and to FMQ on my domestic machine. I see all of the beautiful quilts that are posted and wonder what color of thread they are quilted with.

If the quilt has light and dark fabrics with light sashing and borders, do you use a light thread to match the sashing and borders? Won't the light thread look strange sewn through the dark fabric?
Old 01-28-2014, 05:21 AM

I was always told to go darker.
Old 01-28-2014, 05:45 AM
Power Poster

I like variegated, but a light grey or taupe seems to blend well. If you use a fine thread, like 60 wt or more, the thread blends more no matter what the color.
Old 01-28-2014, 05:51 AM
Power Poster

Welcome to the Quilting Board!

As is often said ... it's your quilt, do what you like ... there are no rules!

Some will change the threads for different sections of their quilt.
Some want the thread to disappear into the quilt, thus matching the colours.
Some want the thread and thus the quilting to be quite noticeable, and will choose a contrasting thread.
Sometimes when you have both dark and light fabrics in a quilt, a variegated thread will do the job.

Just as you audition different fabrics, audition your thread.
Pull off a few feet and let it fall randomly on the quilt top, to give the effect it would have, if quilted in place.

Another consideration is the weight of the thread ... a finer thread will be less noticeable than a coarser one.
Old 01-28-2014, 05:54 AM
Power Poster

Welcome to the board from Northern California. Good information QuiteE. BrendaK
Old 01-28-2014, 05:57 AM
Power Poster