Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Thread for hand quilting

Hi again,
    I am sure I am going to repeat this question but have to ask. I have watched tutorial's on hand quilting, and saw this both ways, so I am confused. Do you double your thread or is it just single with a knot??

I am new to the hand quilting part of this and want to thank you in advance for the help..

Happy quilting,
    Robin

Blog Entries
    Most only use a single strand, but it also can be a personal preference :D:D:D

Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Let me see if I can say this coherently:
    I use a single strand of quilting thread (heavier than regular thread)
    I take my thread and wrap around the needle twice, then move it to the end.
    Does this make sense???

I use a single strand of hand quilting thread. I put a simple, single knot at the end - the quilter's knot I make is usually too big and makes holes in my top.

And - edited to add - I wiggle my needle in the batting before I pull the knot through. It seems to help bury the knot so it doesn't come out.

Janet

Thank you for your help! I love this board, your more help than the local quilt shop...Ok, so the nearest one is over an hour away..lol

:-)

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Hinterland
    I use a single strand of hand quilting thread. I put a simple, single knot at the end - the quilter's knot I make is usually too big and makes holes in my top.

And - edited to add - I wiggle my needle in the batting before I pull the knot through. It seems to help bury the knot so it doesn't come out.

Janet
    Glad someone else has trouble "popping" a double knot through the fabric! I also have to use just a single knot or
    the thread breaks and sometimes it just will not go through at all!