Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Thread question

  1. #1
    Super Member Ditter43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Crystal River Florida
    Posts
    9,466
    Do you match the thread weight in the bobbin to your upper thread? Also what kind of thread would you use to fmq flannel quilts? I just finished two flannel tops...never again!!! The lint has kept me sneezing and my nose running! I'll be glad to have them finished and sent to my ggs's. :( I wanted to use up the flannel I had collected...I still have a few pieces for baby quilt backs but no more flannel quilts for me!! cough cough, sneeze sneeze!!


    Ditter

  2. #2
    Senior Member cindyg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Cypress (NW Houston), TX
    Posts
    579
    I use the same weight thread in the top and bobbin for quilting. The tension works better. There is no quilt police but I was told not to have a heavier thread in the bobbin that you have on top. But it is OK to have a lighter weight in the bobbin (such Bottom Line from Superior) than what you are using on top but you may have to mess with the tension.

  3. #3
    Super Member Maride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,883
    On a regular cotton quilt I tend to use 50 or 60 wt thread on the top and always 60 wt(have used up to 100 wt silk) on the bobbin, but for flannel, definitely 40 wt on the top and bottom.

  4. #4
    Super Member Boston1954's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    East Oklahoma - pining for Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,863
    I wind my bobbins with the same spool that is in the machine. Never thought about the tension, but it probably is a very good idea.

  5. #5
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,108
    Blog Entries
    1
    I use the same in the bobbin as on top. I have never tried it any other way...

  6. #6
    Super Member brushandthimble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    North of Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3,630
    I very seldom use the same thread in top and bottom other than for piecing.

  7. #7
    Super Member joeyoz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    2,269
    I use Bottom Line from Superior Threads in my bobbin. Don't have to change the bobbin as often and tends to be less linty I think.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Sharon - NC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    From Baltimore, currently live in Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    493
    I love questions like this ... I'm so new I wouldn't have even thought about thread weight. Didn't know there was such a thing. Boy, I have a LOT to learn. :?

  9. #9
    Tiffany's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Idaho Falls
    Posts
    1,909
    I always use the same thread in the bobbin that I do in the top, unless I'm trying to use up a bobbin. (Normally because I need to rethread it with another color & I'm out of empty bobbins!) I'm thread stupid though so I stick with the same weight for top and bobbin.

    Geez, what I wouldn't give to take a class on thread and how to thread paint. Some of those professionals do amazing things, but I have a fear of thread. I know, sounds silly, but I just feel like a complete dunce when it comes to thread and how different types work with the tension.

  10. #10
    Super Member Oklahoma Suzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Home town: Rehoboth, MA Now living in OK
    Posts
    7,872
    I use the same weight in the top and bobbin.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.