Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Thread recommendations >

Thread recommendations

Thread recommendations

Old 05-26-2013, 03:20 AM

Default Thread recommendations

What do you use? I was told I could use the thread for sergers and that is what I have been using for 3 years. I just purchased a new Pfaff and was told not to use that thread.
Old 05-26-2013, 03:27 AM

Superior Threads has a fantastic site with loads of information on threads and tension.

http://www.superiorthreads.com/education/

I still use serger thread for piecing. Mainly because it is there, I have tons of it and it works. I will say though that the thread is thick and makes the seams a little thicker. I probably would be happier if I switched to a thread like superiors masterpiece....lol, but too lazy still!

I would recommend trying different threads, find which one works best for you. It really depends on what you are doing.

Hope this helps!
Old 05-26-2013, 03:37 AM

I use serger thread all the time, haven't had a problem with it. I use it in both my Pfaff & my bernina 830. Try it & see is the only way to go.
Old 05-26-2013, 04:08 AM

For piecing, I use Connecting Threads. For machine quilting I use Glide. I love, love LOVE Glide thread... no lint and it quilts absolutely beautifully. Both are economical and Connecting Threads tends to run sales. I buy their white, off white and black on the cones for piecing. I do have a few of their color sets for when I need something other than the basics and it has served me well.

It also depends on your budget too. I no longer use serger thread - I was told the same thing, that it was okay to use, and I have found it really just doesn't stand up and it breaks too often when I machine quilt.
Old 05-26-2013, 05:22 AM

Location: Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho

I use 50 wt. thread on my sewing machines and really like how thin the thread is. It makes the seams lightweight also. I use cones of Presencia thread.