Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Thread to use in a Thread Cartridge

  1. #1
    Super Member Nanamoms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    3,175
    Blog Entries
    1
    I use my Brother SE270D as my regular sewing machine and it has a thread carthridge which only takes a certain size spool which is the standard one carried in most stores. My problem is that any of the all-purpose threads I buy are too coarse to sew smoothly. I keep getting thread jams.

    Does anyone know of a source that makes a good all purpose thread?

  2. #2
    Super Member Quiltforme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Beautiful Washington state!
    Posts
    3,344
    Coats and clark have changed how they made the outside of the thread spools I have this machine and they work very well.

  3. #3
    Super Member Nanamoms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    3,175
    Blog Entries
    1
    Coats & Clark is the one that is common in my area and it's the one that gives me the most trouble. But it could be because I don't have their newest "version:. I just bought a new spool so I'm going to give it a try. I know that it didn't self thread. Do you have any problems getting your 270D to self thread?

  4. #4
    Super Member sewwhat85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    missouri
    Posts
    6,732
    i guess i dont know that machine sorry for your problems

  5. #5
    Senior Member klarina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    868
    I the HE240 which is the exact same machine. What I do is I use my thread cones or spools with a thread stand that I got for 6 bucks at Joann's.

    I looks like this:

    http://www.clotilde.com/images/produ...oseups/700.jpg

    This way I can use whatever thread I want.

    Hope this helps.

  6. #6
    Senior Member LovinMySoldier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    981
    I have the same machine and I have tons of problems getting it to thread as well. The only thread that I use in it consistently that never gives me any grief is the gutterman thread that they sell at Joanns (maybe other places, that's where I get it though.) The gutterman embroidery thread does break though and I usually can't get it to thread with the needle threader.

  7. #7
    Super Member Nanamoms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    3,175
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have a thread stand very similar and use it when I'm doing embroidery. But with regular sewing, I just wanted it to be "easy" you know!!

    BTW, how can you tell when thread is too old to use? This is regular sewing thread that I've had I don't know how long? Is there a "test" you can do?



    Quote Originally Posted by klarina
    I the HE240 which is the exact same machine. What I do is I use my thread cones or spools with a thread stand that I got for 6 bucks at Joann's.

    I looks like this:

    http://www.clotilde.com/images/produ...oseups/700.jpg

    This way I can use whatever thread I want.

    Hope this helps.

  8. #8
    Power Poster dkabasketlady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    10,282
    To check for old thread - unwind some and try to break it!! If it breaks easily, it's old thread, don't use it! If it's hard to break( a really hard pull on it) then it's ok to use!

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    indiana
    Posts
    1,413
    Quote Originally Posted by Nanamoms
    Coats & Clark is the one that is common in my area and it's the one that gives me the most trouble. But it could be because I don't have their newest "version:. I just bought a new spool so I'm going to give it a try. I know that it didn't self thread. Do you have any problems getting your 270D to self thread?
    the last 3 machines i've had i've ended up threading by hand,the auto threader just doesn't want to work ,no mattr what size needle/thread i use.seems like you'd have to have a needle hole the size of a pea for the threader to work! any suggestions?
    thanx,dar

  10. #10
    Super Member Nanamoms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    MS
    Posts
    3,175
    Blog Entries
    1
    I haven't had time to sew much lately to test out all the suggestions. Hope to be able to this coming week and will report back in.

    Thanks!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.