Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Trouble with New Jamone quilting machine.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Centerville, WA
    Posts
    899
    A friend & I went together & got a New Jamone quilting machine & quilting frame. Got it all put together & tried it out today. Oh man, got so frustrated. Can't get the darn ting to work right. It will quilt for about two or three inches then not stitch, then stitch & then the thread breaks. We have tried re threading it several times, changing the needle everything we can think of. Anyone have any ideas on what our problem is? Would be so great full for any help.

  2. #2
    Super Member Kitsapquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Port Orchard WA
    Posts
    2,291
    I would be calling wherever you got it from. They should be able to help you out!

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    new york state
    Posts
    6,787
    Blog Entries
    2
    I would be taking it back to your dealer to but also check this out. I have a Janome and had same problem when it was new. The problem with mine was the thread kept coming out of the arm that goes up and down, Hope you understand my explanation of arm-that silver thing you put the thread through and it goes up and down. Anyhow mine wasnt tight and the thread kept popping out. Just had the tighten that up and now it works fine. Hope you find he answer soon.

  4. #4
    Super Member plainpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Buckeye State
    Posts
    3,637
    Blog Entries
    11
    I agree with Linda.Every new machine comes with a learning curve.Mine was unused for a couple wks because I just didn't remember a word the dealer told me about threading etc.
    So....I took manual in hand, read it once, read it twice, then threaded it.In 2 rs, there's only been one question we called the dealer about.The ans was...operator error :-)The manual is my friend when I take time to read it.Good luck.

  5. #5
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,610
    Which model and frame is it? Is it possible you have your quilt loaded incorrectly on the frame?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Centerville, WA
    Posts
    899
    We went step by step on loading the quilt to the frame. Used the manual to make sure we threaded it right. In fact have re threaded it several times. Could the problem be the needle? Broke it ( due to operators error) & when we replaced it, with the ones that came with the machine, we noticed that they were not like the ones in the manual.

  7. #7
    Super Member plainpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Buckeye State
    Posts
    3,637
    Blog Entries
    11
    I think you need to talk to a same machine owner or call the shop you bought it from.
    Try this support site

    http://content.janome.com/fusetalk/f...&threadid=1165

    you can also type janome help in Google

    Quote Originally Posted by Halo
    We went step by step on loading the quilt to the frame. Used the manual to make sure we threaded it right. In fact have re threaded it several times. Could the problem be the needle? Broke it ( due to operators error) & when we replaced it, with the ones that came with the machine, we noticed that they were not like the ones in the manual.

  8. #8
    Super Member carolaug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Behind my sewing machine
    Posts
    7,147
    Blog Entries
    4

  9. #9
    Super Member tjradj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,325
    Blog Entries
    1
    My first question is, have you used a machine on a frame before? There is a learning curve to it. One does not just set it up and go. Usually you go through a few paks of needles and several types of thread, adjust the speed up and or down until you find the sweet spot where you and your machine 'click."

    Broken thread (yes even every few stitches) and other problems can be the machine, but it could also be that learning curve.
    When I started, my first tryout, I had Sulky 40 weight thread on my machine. After breaking a few needles, and having lots of thread breakage, I changed the thread and it went a lot better. The 40wt was just too thick and too soft for my fast speed. I also had to cut the speed down to med-high instead of pedal to the metal that I was used to on my tabletop. I had to change to "quilting" or "topstitch" needles too, to get a larger eye for the thread to slide through easier.
    Now, I use plain old Gutterman or Coats&Clark on the top and Superior Masterpiece on the bobbin., The thinner Masterpiece thread goes further so there aren't as many bobbin changes. I can use it on the top too, but I usually want my stitching to show.
    So, yes, have the machine checked out, but don't give up. A lot of frame quilters, even with years of sewing behind them, take up to 40 quilts on a frame before they consider themselves 'good' at it.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Centerville, WA
    Posts
    899
    Yep, it was the learning curve giving us the trouble. Had the speed set two high for how we were moving the machine. Slowed it down a bit & it is just fine now. Still need lots of practice, practice, practice so am working on a junk quilt that will be cut into 4 peaces & given to the dogie place.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.