Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 69

Thread: Twin Needle

  1. #1
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,508
    Blog Entries
    2
    I have a 'twin needle' in the stuff that came with my machine. Can someone tell me what it's for?

  2. #2
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,365
    Blog Entries
    20
    My mom always used a twin needle for two rows of topstitching, especially on t-shirts.

  3. #3
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,508
    Blog Entries
    2
    I found this note on a website, when searching for the use of twin needles.

    Note: Twin needles are ONLY for machines with the bobbin located in the front.

    Does this mean the bobbin is inserted from the front rather than the top? My machine came with a twin needle, but the bobbin in loaded on top.

  4. #4
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,365
    Blog Entries
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by MommaDorian
    I found this note on a website, when searching for the use of twin needles.

    Note: Twin needles are ONLY for machines with the bobbin located in the front.

    Does this mean the bobbin is inserted from the front rather than the top? My machine came with a twin needle, but the bobbin in loaded on top.
    I would think it means from the front, not the top. I have never heard that and why would the machine come with it if you can't use it? Have you looked in the sewing machine book?
    What kind of machine do you have?

  5. #5
    Super Member MommaDorian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sully, Iowa
    Posts
    2,508
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Sadiemae
    Quote Originally Posted by MommaDorian
    I found this note on a website, when searching for the use of twin needles.

    Note: Twin needles are ONLY for machines with the bobbin located in the front.

    Does this mean the bobbin is inserted from the front rather than the top? My machine came with a twin needle, but the bobbin in loaded on top.
    I would think it means from the front, not the top. I have never heard that and why would the machine come with it if you can't use it? Have you looked in the sewing machine book?
    What kind of machine do you have?
    I have a Brother CS6000i. I'm not sure why it came with one, based on that note.

  6. #6
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,365
    Blog Entries
    20
    I googled and I didn't see that. Two different sites said that most machines can use a twin needle if they have zig-zag capabilities and a needle plate with a horizontal hole to avoid needle breakage. So if you have a zig zag foot I think you can use the needle.

  7. #7
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,365
    Blog Entries
    20
    I looked up your machine and it says right on Brother's website that an attribute to the machine is the twin needle.

  8. #8
    Super Member miss_ticky2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    2,054
    I've often used twin needles in my top loading bobbin machine..no problems. I've used them to do 2 rows of topstiching, and you can also so pin tucks but you have to play with the tensions quite a bit, both top and bottom tensions (on my machine anyway).

  9. #9
    Super Member Kathy N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brighton, MI
    Posts
    1,008
    I have a top loading bobbin on my Janome and have used twin needles many times. You have to make sure that your stitch width accomodates the size of needles you have. If your machine only has a 5mm width you can't use a twin needle that needs 7mm.

  10. #10
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,457
    Blog Entries
    1
    If you use a twin needle to do topstitching, be aware that the stitching on the underside is very different than what you might expect; it form a zigzag between the two rows on top. This makes it nice for topstitching knits, because the zigzag underneath gives the stitch some stretch. The bobbin tension usually needs to be loosened for this type of stitch; otherwise the fabric creates a "tunnel" between the two lines of stitching (from the zigzagging being too tight).

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.