Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Two steps forward, one step back... >

Two steps forward, one step back...

Two steps forward, one step back...

Old 12-23-2011, 06:04 AM

Red face Two steps forward, one step back...

I've been making quilts for about 10 years. Nothing that would win awards, but I love doing it. Last February I took the plunge and bought a Janome Horizon so I could really work on my FMQ skills. I practiced and played and made 3-4 quilts over the summer and fall, and was really rather pleased with how my FMQ was progressing. In November we had several things going on and I was away from the machine. Same for most of December, until yesterday. I hadn't touched the machine in about a month and a half. Yesterday I had a little free time and decided to sit down and work on a very small wall hanging that I had pieced and layered, ready for FMQing. Got everything all set up, started, and.....WOW, it was like starting all over again!! My skills had deteriorated a LOT in those 6-7 weeks of not doing any FMQing! I stopped after about 10 minutes, and am going to take out what I did and practice before I restart it! Lesson learned: Make a little bit of time, at least, to just play and practice every few days if you don't want to go backwards...use it lose it is true for me in the case of FMQing!
Old 12-23-2011, 06:29 AM

They aren't kidding when they say use it or lose it. You'll be back on top of your game in no time ;-)
Old 12-23-2011, 07:01 AM

I have had the same experience, it is quite typical for me to go several months without even setting foot in my sewing room. It explains my utter lack of FMQ skills!
Old 12-23-2011, 07:06 AM

So funny. I had to look on here and read to see who was doing my dance...One step forward..two steps back. LOL