Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Used HQ Sweet 16 >

Used HQ Sweet 16

Used HQ Sweet 16

Old 10-11-2012, 04:35 AM

Default Used HQ Sweet 16

I saw an ad for a 2006 HQ Sweet 16 for $2,000. I've heard only good things about this machine, but I've never tried one out.

What questions should I ask about it?

Do you think I could learn how to use it easily? (I haven't been able to figure out how to use the buttonhole or zipper feet on my Bernina even with the manual!

Is this a good price?
Old 10-11-2012, 04:54 AM

Button hole and zipper foot are a whole different beasts. I have been sewing for 30+ years and those attachments are still on the ignore pile. I do not have a long arm but since you are a quilter I have no doubt that you will be able to master it. Sure, there will be moments of cursing and chocolate binging but in the end it will become as easy as using your DSM. Go try it, ask why they are selling it, ask for servicing records and play with it a little bit. I am hoping to get one next year but with the economy tanking it may just be a pipe dream. Good luck!
Old 10-11-2012, 05:06 AM
Power Poster

I think the key thing to ask would be why they were getting rid of it. I don't own a longarm so I can't offer any other advice.
Old 10-11-2012, 05:26 AM
Power Poster

ITA ... why are they getting rid of it?

Separate from who is selling it, I'd do my own research and find out if there is anyone local who will service it and provide support as I get to know it. Perhaps even the ability to receive paid lessons on the machine.

I hesitate on used for most anything (not just sewing machines) .. dealers tend not to want to give that extra customer service and support that IMHO are vital. Plus often the servicing is second in line behind machines they have sold. Add to that, there's no guarantee/warranty to fall back on, if things go wrong.