Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 61

Thread: using Retayne in high efficiency washer?

  1. #1
    Junior Member chiaraquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    219
    I was wondering if it is possible to use Retayne in a high efficiency washer- since the tub does not fill with water, instead it sprays it periodically...would it be better to soak the fabric in a tub instead, then wash it? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,931
    Blog Entries
    1
    I don't know for sure, but I don't think it matters. It is the high temperature of the water that activates the Retayne (I think).

  3. #3
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,108
    Blog Entries
    1
    your machine doesn't have a soak cycle? Can you stop the machine after it fills and let it soak?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Rachel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    918
    Oh, I just got a high efficieny and never considered this... ugh. may have to take my new fabrics to the laundry mat.

  5. #5
    Power Poster sueisallaboutquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17,472
    Are you talking about a front-load????

  6. #6
    BMP
    BMP is offline
    Super Member BMP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,500
    Blog Entries
    4
    I have a front loader (HATE it) mine does not have a soak if I want to soak anything I have to pause it and set a timer to remind me to go and turn it back on to finish the cycle. If I have to ever buy another machine I will go back to a top loader.

  7. #7
    Cyn
    Cyn is offline
    Super Member Cyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville NC
    Posts
    6,763
    Blog Entries
    17
    Good question.

  8. #8
    Super Member plainjane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    1,811
    Blog Entries
    62
    I'm just eavesdropping......:)

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley in CA
    Posts
    1,372
    I talked to my daughter about her new front loader. She doesn't like hers either & said she wouldn't buy another one. 1 no soak cycle, 2 if you forgot 1 item, it has to wait for the next load - no opening the door once it starts, 3 she doesn't think it cleans the clothes that good either. About the Retayne, not sure what the answer is.

  10. #10
    Junior Member chiaraquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    219
    AHHHHH- mine DOES have a soak cycle, great thought!Thank you. It is a TOP loading high efficiency, and I must say I love love love it, have had it about two years and it really is the best of both worlds- our electricity bill was cut in half since we got the new washer dryer- I know the front loaders have some issues, but seriously no problems with this- you can add garments once the cycle starts, etc.

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.