Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
walking foot and feed dogs questions ... >

walking foot and feed dogs questions ...

walking foot and feed dogs questions ...

Old 02-17-2010, 05:20 PM

Outing myself as a complete noob. :)

I have only made crib sized quilts. I'm now making a very large rag quilt for my mom. (It will be 80" by 80" finished.) I have been reading about large quilts and everything I've read says that I need a walking foot.

What exactly is a walking foot, and what does it do? Is it an absolute neccessity?

Also, my machine has the capability of dropping the feed dogs. The manual says that's for quilting, but I don't understand the purpose.

Thanks so much in advance!

-Rose
Old 02-17-2010, 05:31 PM

1. walking foot, has feed dogs on it so the layers of fabric move together, rather than the top sliding a bit. I alway use mine when attaching binding, or sewing seams that has batting in them. (like tote bags). You need one compatiable with your machine.

2. dropping feed dogs is used when free motion quilting.(fmq)The fabric does not move, you move it in any direction, circles, write your name.... They are lowered usually while using a darning foot, or free motion foot.

Hope that answers your questions. Someone else may post with more information.
Old 02-17-2010, 05:36 PM

Ditto to the above response! I also would like to say that I've made quilts (mostly baby or lap size) for many years. I used to tie them because I didn't get good results trying to quilt them. The back always puckered. I finally bought a walking foot about a year ago. What a difference! I can't believe I waited so long to buy it! If you plan to keep on quilting/sewing, do yourself a favor and invest in one. You won't be sorry! :)
Old 02-17-2010, 06:01 PM
Power Poster