Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
what batting should I use? >

what batting should I use?

what batting should I use?

Old 10-29-2012, 08:46 AM

Default what batting should I use?

I have learned alot since I have been reading this board. I was not aware that the type of batting makes such a difference in the finished quilt. I like a flat look, not puffy or thick. Also, I want something that will be warm without being too hot. I have been using polyester because it doesn't shrink, but you ladies say that it doesn't provide any warmth. I live in one of the most densely populated areas in the country but I don't have a fabric store near me. I have to order my supplies, usually from Connecting Threads. I noticed that some of you wash your batting before adding it to the quilt. How do you wash batting? Doesn't it shred? Can you use a washing machine that has an agitator? Thanks in advance for your responses. I have been sewing for over 55 years and am still learning.
Old 10-29-2012, 10:15 AM
Power Poster

Natural fibers, such as cotton, breathe so I find quilts made with cotton batting to be much more comfortable than poly. As far as your batting, you can pre shrink it, you don't really wash it. You get it wet either in the machine or a laundry or bath tub, then tumble dry. DO NOT AGITATE! Warm and natural has instructions on their website, under wash and care instructions:
http://www.warmcompany.com/wnpage.html

Last edited by PaperPrincess; 10-29-2012 at 10:17 AM.
Old 10-29-2012, 12:17 PM

Welcome, from Texas! My favorite batting is Warm & Natural/Warm & White. I buy it at Hobby Lobby, with a 40% off coupon.
Old 10-29-2012, 12:18 PM
Power Poster

Dream Wool batting is a wonderful batting that does not shrink---warm, but lightweight- i live in a pretty cold climate & love my quilt with the wool batting & flannel backing- it is so cozy & warm!
personally i can not imagine pre-washing a batt.