Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What Do You Do With The Quilts You Make? >

What Do You Do With The Quilts You Make?

What Do You Do With The Quilts You Make?

Old 07-28-2012, 02:48 AM

Default What Do You Do With The Quilts You Make?

This is a question my husband has asked me, "What are you going to do with all these quilts?" Of course some go to charity, and some are gifts for friends and family, and some we use ourselves. However, as far as the rest I don't have an answer.
Old 07-28-2012, 03:23 AM

I tell my hubby they're for the girls to fight over when I'm dead. I get a look and he leaves me alone. LOL
Old 07-28-2012, 03:24 AM

I'm a newbie. First quilt is on our bed. 2nd quilt is waiting for first great granddaughter, 3rd quilt given to our oldest son, 4th quilt (I'm working on it now) is for our granddaughter, next quilt (in waiting) is for our bed because first quilt is going to oldest granddaughter. Don't know about the rest because I've got several kits and several packages of fabric bought for specific patterns. I'm not worried about where they are going. At this point, quilting is my "sanity".
Old 07-28-2012, 03:34 AM

Mine are all for gifts. I feel like I spend a lot of money on each quilt, so I justify the cost by saving having to buy a present for family. I gave wall hangings to my moms and pops for Mothers/Fathers Days out of fabrics that cost me nearly nothing. The backings were made of an old sheet that I got for $1 and the front was made from a box of fabrics that I got at a yard sale for $5 (and still have oodles left) and instead of batting, I used a blanket that Granny gave us for Christmas. I gave my dad the first quilt I made last year for Christmas and he almost cried, he was so proud of it. I pick out quilt tops that I like and want to quilt then when it's finished, I pick who it's going to go to. I figure if I mess it up, it stays here!!