Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What kind of color of hand quilting thread would you use for black background AOTH >

What kind of color of hand quilting thread would you use for black background AOTH

What kind of color of hand quilting thread would you use for black background AOTH

Old 08-21-2014, 07:58 PM

Default What kind of color of hand quilting thread would you use for black background AOTH

I'm new at hand quilting and was wondering what color and type of thread you would use hand quilting a black background of AOTH. The embroidery will be dark gold and the inner borders blue with gold metallic scrolls. I'm a newbie and I'm open to suggestions as I feel sort of lost. Also where would you purchase the thread as I live an hour from the quilt shop so I'd rather get it online. How many spools would you get. I don't mind having extra. Help please. mary r
Old 08-21-2014, 09:25 PM
Gay

I think I would stay with black, as a colour or variegated thread might look overdone. Only my opinion Have a pic of this quilt with a soft multi-coloured sashing, quilted with black - looks fabulous. It's on my to-do list. Post a photo when finished, please?
Old 08-21-2014, 11:04 PM

Thank you for your help. mary r
Old 08-22-2014, 12:19 AM

I would love to see a picture too. I only have the borders to do on my AOTH and would love to see yours
Mine also has a black background and I am thing black thread also. I think I will machine quilt mine.
Old 08-22-2014, 03:26 AM
Power Poster

​Black thread on black fabric is going to be hard on the eyes if you are hand quilting. If I was going to the trouble of hand quilting, I would want to see it so I would probably use gold.
Old 08-22-2014, 03:38 AM
JT

What is an AOTH?
Old 08-22-2014, 04:58 AM

Originally Posted by JT View Post
What is an AOTH?

Affairs of the Heart.