Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What marking tool do you use >

What marking tool do you use

What marking tool do you use

Old 06-04-2015, 07:22 PM

Question What marking tool do you use

for hand quilting? I would hate to ruin a quilt by the item i used to mark with not wash out.
I am new to hand quilting and want to begin learning. I see some people use marking pens, chalk, painters tape, ect. What you find the best thing to use ?
Old 06-04-2015, 07:38 PM
Power Poster

For hand quilting straight lines I like to quilt beside painter's tape. On medium to dark fabrics I like to use WHITE chalk and I mark as I go rather then the whole top because chalk brushes off. Do not use COLOURED chalk as it doesn't come off.
I have on occasion cut a shape out of contact paper to stick to the quilt surface to quilt around like a heart or star.
Old 06-04-2015, 08:08 PM

I mark as I go block by block always use Dove soap I use (showering) it until it a thin wafer size leave it to dry harder on the windowsill in the sun or a few days then right to go , never had problem at all ,White for dark back round and pink for light , doesn't cost me anything.Cathy
Old 06-04-2015, 09:12 PM

Do NOT use "washable" markers on red batik ....or friction pens on batiks...
Old 06-04-2015, 10:13 PM

Use frixion pens and try to mark before sandwiching. My hand embroidery on an applique flower also marked with frixion pen.
ive had no trouble ironing the marks off, I use because they leave clearer marks than chalk or other markers oh and the tutor recommended them.
Attached Thumbnails image.jpg  
Old 06-04-2015, 10:35 PM

for hand quilting i use regular old pencils, sharpened to a fine point.

i've never had it not wash out, though some people say that happens.