Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What Order to use for block placement in a quilt >

What Order to use for block placement in a quilt

What Order to use for block placement in a quilt

Old 08-01-2014, 08:52 PM

Default What Order to use for block placement in a quilt

I am working on a quilt top of embroidered state flower blocks. My aunt (who is 87) embroidered the blocks, but I am trying to assemble the top. My question is, in what order should the blocks be placed. I had considered alphabetical order, left to right for each horizontal row, but being a rank amateur I'm not sure how it should be done. I also thought how neat it would be to place the blocks in the order each state was admitted to the union, but that would involve a WHALE OF A LOT OF RESEARCH!

Your advice would be appreciated.

Jeanette
Old 08-01-2014, 08:57 PM
Power Poster

I would simply arrange the blocks in a pleasing way.

You can Google "state flower quilt" and then click on "images" to see how others have done it. I don't think there are any rules!

I found this website where she placed her flowers in alphabetical order by state (but it was easy because the 2-letter abbreviation for each state was embroidered on the corresponding flower):
http://turkeyfeathers.typepad.com/tu...uilt-show.html

Last edited by Prism99; 08-01-2014 at 09:00 PM.
Old 08-01-2014, 10:07 PM

Prism,

Each block has the state name, and the flower (but not the name of the flower). Alphabetical arrangement is easy -- but I'm going to have to do some artistic work to use all the blocks and fill in where there won't be enough state blocks to make the quilt! I think I'll embroider some roses (I have some beautiful rose iron-on embroidery transfers, and with one rose block in each corner, the number of blocks work out even. Then, I can work on my borders, etc.

Jeanette
Old 08-01-2014, 10:51 PM