Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What sewing machine do I buy? >

What sewing machine do I buy?

What sewing machine do I buy?

Old 06-27-2009, 09:07 AM

Help!! I have been quilting by hand for years, I'm still a beginner. I would like to learn to use a sewing machine to make some of my easiest projects go faster and actually get done. But the problem is I don;t even know where to start on buying a sewing machine. Brand, style, etc. I want to be sure to get a good one because I will have to save up some money and will be using it for a long time to get more than my moneys worth,lol. any suggestions would be great!
Thanx,
Star
Old 06-27-2009, 09:09 AM

I love my 20+ year old Bernina!
Old 06-27-2009, 11:13 AM

I love my 5 year old Juki TL98E
Old 06-27-2009, 11:28 AM

Thanx for the input. I am going to start looking. when i buy a machine do they offer classes??
Old 06-27-2009, 11:39 AM

There are as many opinions on which sewing machine as there are which car to buy!!!! I love my Janome.....but that's because it's an improvement over my 30 yr old Kenmore!
Old 06-27-2009, 11:40 AM
Power Poster

I don't know about other makes, but Bernina give a free class if you buy one. I would suggest you investigate what makes are available near you, as buying the machine is only the first step. You will be forever grateful that you bought a machine from a service dealership near you. Ask around anyone in your area, then ask to test drive as many as you can, in your price range. Also ask if they have any used machines higher up the range, that might come within your price range.
Old 06-27-2009, 11:43 AM

If you can, buy from a dealer near you so that you can take advantage of their classes and service. The sky's the limit on options available. I love my old Bernina and have recently "inherited" a Pfaff 2144 from my dear MIL which does pretty much everything, including embroidery.