Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What to use for basting ? >

What to use for basting ?

What to use for basting ?

Old 10-27-2012, 07:48 PM

Question What to use for basting ?

Hi everyone:
I'm new to the forums and I have been quilting for a couple of years. I haven't done any big quilts as of yet, but I have done a few table runner and a few rag baby quilts . The one thing I hate about quilting is having to baste the layers together. I usually machine quilt and the pins just get in the way. I'd like to use one of the sprays available, but I want to know if the finished product HAS to be washed when it's completed . I want to do some wall hangings, and I didn't want to have to wash them until they were soiled. Can anyone help ?
Old 10-27-2012, 08:05 PM
Power Poster

I am a big fan of Hobbs 80/20 fusible batt. I use a dry iron to fuse my sandwich together for FMQ and it works really well for me. I lay my back down flat, smooth out the batt, and smooth down the top. Using my iron from the middle out, I fuse the front. I pick up and flip over the sandwich and iron the back from the middle out. The batt lets you peel up the fabric and re-iron if you get a wrinkle. I put a few safety pins round the edge so I don't accidentally peel up an edge. I wash my quilts to remove the guile for a softer, fluffier look. My wallhangings I leave the fusible in and do not wash. My wallhangings are 3 years old and counting with no problems.
Old 10-28-2012, 06:28 AM

Patchwork Mama...what an excellent question. One I had not thought about, but most likely will at some point.

Tartan....thanks for the informative answer. I will definetely be trying this at some point.
Old 10-28-2012, 06:46 AM

I've tried a few different ways to baste ...

I liked spray basting for small pieces only. I had such a problem with positioning and overspray when I tried to spray baste a large quilt that I will never do that again.