Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What's the best type of sewing machine to get for quilting? >

What's the best type of sewing machine to get for quilting?

What's the best type of sewing machine to get for quilting?

Old 08-06-2011, 07:25 PM

Hi!

I'm new to quilting, and am thinking about buying the Brother SE400 Computerized Embroidery Sewing Machine. Does anyone know if this sewing machine supports the kind of stitch work involved with quilting?

I have no other sewing machinery, I'm a true (but enthusiastic!) novice.

Any advice would be really great, thank you!
Old 08-06-2011, 07:36 PM

There are many machines out there. It would be best if you could try out as many as you can before making a choice. What is right for one person may not be right for you. If you have dealers in your area visit them for test drives.
Old 08-06-2011, 07:37 PM
Banned

the trouble with a combo machine is, when you want to quilt/sew you have to change everything to sewing, and so it goes...

also you can not be embroidering while sewing..so when will you get to embroider??

also most of the emb. machines do not have the large throat area for machine quilting...do some searches on here...at the top you can see search as an field..type in embroidery machines, and quilting machines and read some of the great discussions on both!

Welcome!
Old 08-06-2011, 07:37 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by ontheriver
There are many machines out there. It would be best if you could try out as many as you can before making a choice. What is right for one person may not be right for you. If you have dealers in your area visit them for test drives.
ditto!
Old 08-06-2011, 07:41 PM

Welcome! I learned to quilt on my 1990's Singer and it's still my workhorse today.

I agree with the others that you'll want to try several before you buy. Over time you'll discover what's most important to YOU in a machine. :)
Old 08-06-2011, 07:44 PM