Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
When asked, what do you charge for this? HELP please >

When asked, what do you charge for this? HELP please

When asked, what do you charge for this? HELP please

Old 05-23-2011, 02:56 AM

I have a good friend who is in Texas, she has asked what I charge to make her a full size quilt. She would be supplying the fabric, batting and backing material.
I have showed her some of my smaller projects which she loved.
I know I am still learning, in fact put the playmat onto the Flynn Frame yesterday to do free motion, need to adjust the tension! Have some interesting loops on the back. EEEEKKKKK.
I have not made a quilt for pay, what do I say?

Thanks.
Old 05-23-2011, 03:27 AM

It would greatly depend on the pattern that she chooses. Some are a lot more labor intensive.
Old 05-23-2011, 03:31 AM

I told her since I am just learning it needed to be an easy pattern. I was thinking $50 - $100 to make the quilt, since she will be paying a lot for fabric and batting. Backing material can be costly.
Old 05-23-2011, 03:38 AM
Power Poster

Your making the quilt! Are you going to quilt it also?
Like "sewcrafty" said if the pattern is a lot of work plus quilting it, maybe I would charge 150.00 or more. It depends on a lot of things, size, time....
Old 05-23-2011, 03:43 AM

Originally Posted by SueDor
Your making the quilt! Are you going to quilt it also?
Like "sewcrafty" said if the pattern is a lot of work plus quilting it, maybe I would charge 150.00 or more. It depends on a lot of things, size, time....
It is a Full size. Haven't talked to her about who is quilting it. If I quilt it, will be nothing fancy. I was thinking loops, stipple.
Old 05-23-2011, 03:55 AM