Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Why not use the same thread in the bobbin? >

Why not use the same thread in the bobbin?

Why not use the same thread in the bobbin?

Old 01-25-2011, 07:46 PM

I don't understand something. When FMQ, the main problem is tension, right? So why wouldn't I use the same exact thread (heavier weight/vareigated, etc.) in the bobbin to help make tension more "the same." Also I want the back to look just as pronounced as the front -- why not? I like the quilting to pop (though I'm a newbie to FMQ) so I'm planning to use 28 weight variegated cotton. Is that too thick for the bobbin or something?
Old 01-25-2011, 07:48 PM
Power Poster

I use the same thread, because honestly I don't have the money to purchase more than one thread. I do know that it is nice to use a lighter weight in the bobbin because the bobbin will hold more thread and then last longer.
Old 01-25-2011, 07:53 PM
Power Poster

It's your quilt. You can do what you want. If that thickness works for you AND you can afford it - hey, go for it. I generally use the same (or similar) thread type in both top and bobbin, but not necessarily the same color.

When I do something special on top, I do a test piece and see which tension setting is best.
Old 01-25-2011, 07:57 PM

Using the same thread in the bobbin is fine!
I use thinner in the bobbin mainly because it goes further so there are less bobbin changes - important with quilting on a frame, as bobbin changes can be a pain in the you know what. I also like the thinner thread because it tends to 'disappear' into the fabric after washing. That way if I have a wobble or two, or three.... it doesn't really show.
Old 01-25-2011, 08:02 PM