Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Why should I pin my borders? >

Why should I pin my borders?

Why should I pin my borders?

Old 02-06-2016, 05:47 AM

Default Why should I pin my borders?

Disclaimers - I'm self taught and have been quilting for 2 years. I made lap sized quilts (45 x 70), with plain borders and FMQ them on my DSM.

I had not been pinning my borders. They are just a piece of fabric, no piecing on my borders. I would line up the border top and the quilt top and just sew down the side without pinning.

I read here that it's important to pin the borders before sewing them on so I began doing that. I don't notice any difference in my finished product. My lap quilts always came out fine before.

Is that because my borders are plain and tend to lay flat? Is it because my quilts are on the small side?

I don't understand why I should continue to pin the borders before sewing them. I'm thinking I may go back to just sewing them.

Thanks a lot!!
Old 02-06-2016, 05:59 AM
Power Poster

The reason to pin your borders is to prevent the seams in the pieced top from stretching unevenly. You have been lucky that you haven't had wavy border after quilting. I like nice flat borders and a perfectly square quilt.
Old 02-06-2016, 06:11 AM

Also, since you are using your side measurement only to determine your border length, there is no easing/stretching involved. In many cases folks measure their quilts both sides and center to make sure it is square. If there is any discrepancy in those measurements, you can take an average of the 3 measurements to help 'square up' the quilt with the borders. In that case, your border fabric may not be the same length as your quilt, hence the need for easing/stretching your border fabric.
Old 02-06-2016, 06:18 AM

Originally Posted by NJ Quilter View Post