Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: yardage according to quilterscashe?

  1. #1
    Senior Member wannaquilt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    742
    I went through the math and figured out the yardage I would need for my sons twin quilt with the saw tooth star and it seemed really low. It said I would need .6 yards .6 yards and 1 yard for 3 colors. I'm doing 48 blocks. should i just buy more?

  2. #2
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    8,489
    I always buy a little more than I need, but that's just me. I'd rather have too much than too little.

  3. #3
    np3
    np3 is offline
    Power Poster np3's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    17,265
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by DebraK
    I always buy a little more than I need, but that's just me. I'd rather have too much than too little.
    Me too!

  4. #4
    lllog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Camdenton MO
    Posts
    478
    The standard size for a twin is 39" x 75" without extra drop for the sides and end. 2 1/4 yds would cover that, depending upon the blocks, borders, etc.. that you have. Your figures seem a little low to me, but if they came from a particular pattern, they may be right.

    My advice is to get more, you can always have some for your stash, but you can't strech what you have.

    Lanny

  5. #5
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    15,023
    That's only 2.2 yards - is that for the whole top?

    Is more fabric listed for borders?

    How large do you plan to make the top?

  6. #6
    Senior Member wannaquilt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    742
    I think there is an error in the pattern for the block. It's saying there are only 1 strip needed of each color and i think it needs to be 2 strips. I'm going to email her and find out ;)

  7. #7
    Senior Member wannaquilt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    742
    ok i was doing the math wrong :) sorry! it comes out to be 2.6 yds, 1.08 yds and 7 yds for all 3 colors. that seems like alot to me for a twin top but i'll get it and if i have extra thats ok

  8. #8
    Senior Member familyfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Ohio
    Posts
    597
    I always buy way to much fabric. I am in fear of messing up and not being able to get more. I just figure I have more for something else later.

  9. #9
    Super Member maryb119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    5,420
    I think Quilters Cache just gives the yardage for each block. It is up to you to figure out how much you will need for a quilt. Just decided how many blocks you will need to make and then multiply the yardage by the number of blocks. BTW .6 of a yard is 6 inches the width of fabric.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.