Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
You Can Do This ! >

You Can Do This !

You Can Do This !

Old 02-03-2014, 11:33 PM

Default You Can Do This !

I wanted to write this post for anyone who has ever told themselves ” I could never do THAT !” , when it came to anything quilting related, or heck, even anything period ! You see, last year was the first time I participated in Project Quilting. I had been quilting for all of 2 months, but it looked like alot of fun, so, head first I dove in, as usual. The first challenge I did was actually the second challenge. The challenge was Square in a Square … in a square !
[ATTACH=CONFIG]460464[/ATTACH]

You can see my entry and read more about ” LaLa here … Project Quilting Season 4 (I am the last one featured on that post , I was blogging as Feeding The Dogs then ).

That challenge had me in tears at first. No matter how hard I tried, no matter how I cut , or how I turned, LaLa outright refused to do what I wanted her to do, and I am ever so glad that she didn’t. You see, it was right around this time that I came across a blog post from 2011 at Piecemeal Quilts titled The Dumbing Down Of Quilting .

After reading that post, I felt like I was never going to make quilting work for me. I am not the most patient person by far, and while at times I am very detail oriented, it usually never lasts me the entire quilt. For days I was certain that I was never going to get better, and that maybe I was just not meant to be a quilter.