Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Your opinion, please!

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Bee Branch, Arkansas
    Posts
    309
    Blog Entries
    2

    Your opinion, please!

    I am a fairly new quilter, so I read a lot on quilting tips. Today, I read an article advising beginners to avoid cheap material. I don't know about others (they may have more money than me), but if I were to spend a lot of money on good material and mess it up on my first attempt, I would become discouraged and frustrated at ruining the material and just forget about quilting! What do you think! PS......I'm almost at the point of buying good fabric and hopefully my quilt will come out just fine!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central New York State :o)
    Posts
    283
    There are 2 ways to look at it. The more cheaply made stuff is good to practice on, especially if you are nervous about cutting up expensive fabric. But the good stuff will give you a better feel for what a quality fabric would be to work with and leave you with a better made, longer lasting product in the long run. I would say it's up to you.

  3. #3
    Super Member LeslieFrost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Trego, WI
    Posts
    1,870
    Blog Entries
    41
    You should get to know what wonderful fabric feels like, so you know the choice you're making when you decide to buy less expensive stuff. I always head straight for the 'sale' table or remnant room in a good quilt store, to see if I can find what I need there. I don't buy online, because I hate paying shipping charges, but I know that many on QB find great fabric for lower prices on some of the online sites.

    If you go with less expensive fabric, I would advise pre-washing. I have had some cheap fabric shrink on me on the ironing board! Very painful.....
    Reading, cooking, sewing in retirement! Heaven!
    I'm proud to say that I'm a member of the Quilt A Month Club for the Alzheimer's Art Quilt Initiative! www.alzquilts.org
    I have a blog on QB now -- please drop in!

  4. #4
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,693
    If you want good quality material for less money check out connecting threads, they are reasonably priced but the quality is good

  5. #5
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Grundy Co Illinois
    Posts
    5,178
    Do you intend to "practice" or make something to keep?

    If you are not sure yet, perhaps buy a few cheap Fat Quarters and practice by making 9" blocks that you can then turn into pot holders.

    Once you are comfortable with the hobby then treat yourself and make a larger project.
    May your stitches always be straight, your seams always lie flat, and your grain never be biased against you.

    Sue

  6. #6
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    18,920
    You might want to check out Bonnie Hunter's site www.quiltville.com She uses many recycled good shirt fabrics in her scrap quilts. This might be something you could try if the cost of quilt shop fabric scares you. Hey, quilt shop fabric scares me sometimes. I try to buy on the sale rack myself. Some people have had luck at Walmart with some of the better fabrics on the bolts. Buy a fat quarter from your quilt shop and take that with you to the Walmart and compare the feel and thread count and see what you are comfortable using.

  7. #7
    Super Member Buckeye Rose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monroe, IN
    Posts
    1,970
    If you are just starting out and need to decide if this is a hobby (addiction) for you, then definitely buy cheap stuff to get the feel of 1/4" seams, matching points, etc. I would really hate to see you spend $$ for great fabric and then not finish because you really don't like quilting. And FYI...you can find good fabrics at Walmart or LQS....you can also find bad fabrics at Walmart or LQS. Take your time at both, comparing how the fabrics feel and look....learn what is good/bad fabrics....don't feel like your very first project needs to have $12/yd fabrics to be beautiful. In my opinion, all quilts are beautiful when made by with love by someones hands.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    4,328
    I'm in 100% agreement with you. I learned a lot on my first couple of quilts, and did not spend a fortune to do it. I still use 'cheap' fabric if I like it. Having said that, I've learned to be choosy about which 'cheap' fabrics I purchase. That will all come with time. In the meantime, enjoy the trip!

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    4,328
    I prewash all the fabric I purchase before it goes in my stash. yes, the stores all look clean, but I'm aware that the stores they share walls with may not be so clean, and that bugs like to travel in the walls, and many bugs think fabric is quite a treat. I wait to iron it until I'm ready to use it, though.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    4,328
    Buckeye Rose, you said it all!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.