Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 71

Thread: Your opinion please

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    627

    Your opinion please

    I have heard that every quilt should have some black and white in the quilt (for contrast or interest.) Have you ever heard of this idea and what do you think about it?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Tashana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    798
    Never heard of it. I use whatever fabric I think would work the best.

  3. #3
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,851
    Blog Entries
    1
    Well, I have made quilts with white fabric and quilts with black fabric. I have seen some beautiful quilts that the sashing was done in other colors and these quilts are really appealing to me. I have used mainly white or white on white fabrics for my sashings but I have a couple of quilts in the hopper that I will be using a silvery grey and an olive green for the sashing. I think it is more important to audition your colors and choose what appeals to you.
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

  4. #4
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,710
    I don't agree, there are many quilts with no black or white that are just beautiful

  5. #5
    Super Member crafty pat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Live Oak, Texas
    Posts
    4,583
    I have never heard that and none of my quilts do except the ones that I choose to use black or white in the pattern I chose. I don't see that in any other quilts in shows or quilting books.

  6. #6
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,800
    What do I think of that... Well to be frank... its bull. Some of the most beautiful quilts I have ever seen have neither black or white in them.
    Make what appeals to you not some silly "rule" that someone pulled out of their...

  7. #7
    Super Member ptquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    5,190
    I don't pay attention when the rules committee starts saying "All quilts should have....." or "you should never..."

  8. #8
    Super Member Wanabee Quiltin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. Louis suburbs
    Posts
    3,187
    I just finished a quilt that was Eleanor Burns Love Knot and it had neither Black or White in it. Everyone loved it. I am working on a Log Cabin that is Courthouse Steps with all batiks and there is neither black or white in it either and it's beautiful. I think I will have to say I disagree with whoever said that you have to have black or white in a quilt.

  9. #9
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    4,692
    Blog Entries
    1
    Nuts to that, that's getting close to Quilt Police territory, in my opinion. It all depends on the quilt. I have made many quilts where adding black or white would have been completely inappropriate and jarring to the look of the quilt.

    One of the things I do consider when making a quilt, especially a scrap quilt, is value. I think a quilt "sparkles" more when it has a few light fabrics scattered around for contrast. If it's all medium value fabrics, it can end up looking dull and drab.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Jeanette Frantz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    458
    Well,

    The day that "someone" tells me what colors I should include in my quilt will be the day I stop making quilts. And, that's not going to happen! This is America, land of the free!

    Jeanette Frantz

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.