April - Boom 18

Old 04-27-2017, 06:45 PM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by jaba View Post
I've never done this method before but you ladies are making me very curious and wanting to try it. I went to the tutorial sewbizgirl so soon 1 of my quilts will be this method. Lots of times I have wanted to quilt each block separately but on the longarm it's just so easy and "lazy" to keep going with the same over all pattern. There has to be a first time for everything right??
Right! Lucky you to have that longarm, but I think you'll have a ball quilting the sampler blocks individually according to each pattern. I use a lot of walking foot curved lines, as you can see. I'm currently in love with them. It means a lot of block turning, so I doubt I'd do it if I was quilting a whole top on my Juki.
Old 04-27-2017, 07:18 PM

I've been doing my En Provence w/ a wider pieced sashing QAYG the long sashing strip is sewn to join both long strips of blocks and sashing. It was a method I made up out of necessity. I plan on doing this same method for the Summer Citrus blocks. [ATTACH=CONFIG]572206[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]572207[/ATTACH]
I used to have more pics on the computer but this is all I could find w/o a big search.
Attached Thumbnails dsc_0607.jpg   dsc_0608.jpg  
Old 04-27-2017, 08:09 PM
Power Poster

Oh, cool how you joined that!

I had forgotten about your unique colorway and was pleased to see it again! So pretty. I have some of that same 'scribbly bubbles' in gray as you have in your diamonds.
Old 04-28-2017, 12:49 PM

You'd definitely be a whiz at QAYG, Jaba. It's fun to quilt the individual blocks. I just straight line quilted them on my domestic machine. Super easy. Putting them together wasn't tough, just fidgety to get the sashings to line up. I mostly succeeded. Mostly. I just finished this afternoon. I'll post it over on the UFO board since the blocks are from close to 15 years ago. But first, I'd better get a pic.