Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Coke Tray Liner

Well I finished my project...finally.
    I made PLENTY of mistakes, but at least I've learned from them
    This is my first attempt at flying geese and sewing several small sections together.

Question:
    why is it that the more pieces I sew together the more it distorts the dimensions? I pressed all my seams and pieces before adding another section/row but it still got distorted.

The tray is from an old cafeteria, and has become a "catch-all" try instead.
    Name:  Attachment-51428.jpe
Views: 19
Size:  54.2 KB

I don't see any distortion. But, one trick is, Don't use any steam while pressing and never, never rub on the bias edges. They grow (stretch)when you do. Before you cut anything bias out use a heavy starch on it, this helps to set them in place better.

It is fun to see the coca cola stuff. Do you collect it?

You did a great job!

Good job! We are somewhat coke collectors too. I have a timer, straw container, napkin holder (the old fashioned).

That's cute!
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracy_Lit5
    Question: why is it that the more pieces I sew together the more it distorts the dimensions? I pressed all my seams and pieces before adding another section/row but it still got distorted.
    Having experienced this myself, it's really true that those little "negligible" errors add up. Re-measure each time you sew two sets of sewn pieces together, and finesse by matching them up at the inner seam lines, not the outer ones, when you find discrepancies.