Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: First Time Feather Practice

Blog Entries

First Time Feather Practice

Well as my grandma used to say "In for a penny, in for a pound" I have been practicing my feathers on my dry erase board for like 3 months now. And got pretty good at them, so decided to take myself to the long arm and see what I can do. Note to self: It really isnt the same thing using a pen vs using a machine. But that is ok, now I will just practice on fabric.

I bought a yard of material for backing, and used some scraps for the runners. Just loaded one at a time, stitched it down then went to town. Apparently circles are the hardest types of feathers to do. Guess I am a horrible over achiever I went right for the circles... But will note, I am inherently lazy, so if circles are the hardest, if I practice them first and get really good at them...then straight lines will be a cinch. Saves time Or I am just a glutton for punishment!

Not sure what I am going to do with them.....lol...probably give the blue/green ones away, the orange one had too many issues to share with anyone. So might just use it for the cat's feeding area cause he is such a mess.

Anyhow, here they are. I had some tone on tone circles sewn on the blocks to give a guide. You can barely see it, but they are there.
    This is the first one, very first time on feathers....not great but there are a few petals that are good.
    Name:  IMG_0625_zps7c180d34.jpg
Views: 1380
Size:  68.7 KB
    This is the second one, the feathers are getting better (tension too) more good petals.
    Name:  IMG_0623_zpsa0c9fe30.jpg
Views: 1379
Size:  65.9 KB
    And this is the last one, more continuity in the good petals, still some issues, but getting better.
    Name:  IMG_0624_zpscff87293.jpg