Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: I need opinions!

  1. #1
    Member tanisha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Davenport IA
    Posts
    61

    Lightbulb I need opinions!

    This is a quilt that I started ~5 years ago. I wanted a new project, so I had my aunt draw several different flowers on blocks. She is great, and did just that. I hand embroidered them, and at the time, I didn't know how to quilt. Well today and 4 quilts later, I decided that I should finally put these blocks together.. But now I don't know if I made a good decision on sashing! It is a brown multi-colored polka dot, and the blocks in the middle are a green diamond.

    The colors of the blocks are deep blue, medium green, yellow, and pink.

    It needs to be longer, so I think I am going to piece some blocks for the top and bottom and then finish off with an outer border of the polka dot.

    Any opinions?

    Sorry for the quality of the picture, I have poor lighting; I'm in a hotel room for 3 weeks, and yes, I brought my sewing machine! =]
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,881
    Blog Entries
    1
    So bright and colorful! You did a fantastic job!
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

  3. #3
    Super Member BizzieLizzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,781
    Love it and I think that the sashing is lovely! Well done!!
    Patchwork Crazy!!!

  4. #4
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,154
    Your embroidery is beautiful!!! Personally, I like the brown polka dot sashing!

  5. #5
    Member tanisha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Davenport IA
    Posts
    61
    Thank you! My mom started me out when I was about 5.. I've stitched away ever since.. Its only been the past few years I have gotten started with quilting.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Enid, OK
    Posts
    8,930
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think that is just lovely, definitely one of a kind!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Close to BR, Louisiana
    Posts
    697
    Your blocks are lovely. I agree with you...the brown really doesn't enhance the blocks. To me, it sorta flattens them. I am the world's worse at picking fabrics, but I can just see a patterned white with black as the sashing between these blocks. I think it would really pick up your block colors & display them beautifully. I'd take the top to the fabric store and audition fabrics you think would work. Often I am surprised. Things I think will work - go dud, & things I know won't - go ZING!!!! I will be looking forward to see what you end up with.
    Last edited by Barb in Louisiana; 05-08-2012 at 07:37 PM.
    Sew a Little, Love a Lot & Live like you were dying!

  8. #8
    Super Member noveltyjunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    53 degrees North
    Posts
    1,657
    Blog Entries
    3
    Well I never would have thought brown polka dots could work so well! I think you have done a fine job there.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    4,919
    I love your quilt ~ everything about it including the brown polka dots!

  10. #10
    Super Member Pickles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,453
    O my that is one gorgeous quilt top, and I so so love that brown poka dot sashing it really makes it pop!!!
    May you always have Love to Share , Health to Spare, and Friends that Care!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.