Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Need Opinions Polka Dot Stars/ Sewing Center Pics my dad made too

  1. #1
    Senior Member Brazen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    338
    I just a few minutes ago remembered that I promised sewing center photos. Back story for anyone who didn't read my 45 Polka Dot fabrics thread..... a few years ago I was looking online and happened upon a sewing center that had a retail price of $4,000 on it!! I showed my Dad at some point, and he offered to recreate it for me!!

    So he made this entire thing for me. These two pictures aren't ideal because I'm not at a point where I can close it all up and show you it shut.... but I will someday for ya!!

    [IMG]http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b1...wingCenter.jpg[/IMG]

    That table folds up and the doors close shut and the whole thing looks like an amoire. Dad cut a hole in the table for the machine to sit down in, but if I just want a big cutting area, I can take the machine out and he made a hole-plug thing so that makes it a complete table to work on.

    [IMG]http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b1...ingCenter1.jpg[/IMG]

    There's a hole cut into the back wall by the machine that the power cords can go thru and plug into an outlet behind the whole thing. I have a power strip there that the sewing machine, iron and my tensor light plug into.

    It's got the HUGE drawers like a bureau chest of drawers and those are full of fabrics. One is just full of thread. hehehe!

    OK.... change of topic!! Here's where I need some quick opinions!!! I am making this "Dotty Stars" quilt.

    [IMG]http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b1...ottyStars1.jpg[/IMG]

    The first step is to make the 9-patch squares in the center of each square.

    I laid out 4 9-patches....
    [IMG]http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b1...ty9patches.jpg[/IMG]

    It's supposed to be made up of 4 light patches and 5 dark patches. Do you think mine are distinct enough so that it's clear?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Super Member NorBanaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    2,901
    I like em! And your cabinet is wonderful, how nice to have such a talented dad.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Brazen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    338
    Oh, I just realized, looking at the original quilt pic up there.... they tried to keep all blues together in one star, and all greens together in another star. And the pattern says they put some yellow and black into ALL the stars to create "sparkle".

  4. #4
    Lisa T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Menominee, Michigan
    Posts
    918
    I was thinking that yours looked different, but couldn't put my finger on it. You are right, though, about the colors.

    This quilt is ADORABLE! I LOVE polka-dots. I put polka dots in almost every quilt I make. Someday I will make one with only polka-dots. I will be looking forward to pics when you get yours done.

    Lucky you to have such a handy father! I love how your table/storage is set up. Can you imagine having $4k to drop on a TABLE?? Wow. I didn't even spend that on my machine!

    Your big flower pincushion is cute, too.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Brazen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    338
    Ok, here are 4 9-patches laid out with the color theme in mind:

    [IMG]http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b1...y9patches1.jpg[/IMG]

    Lisa, thanks!! I made that wild flower pin cushion last year... I was going to make a couple, but it was tedious enough that I had to put some time in between making them. hehehe

  6. #6
    Super Member Quilt4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Merrimac, MA
    Posts
    9,038
    Blog Entries
    1
    Love both.

  7. #7
    Super Member SharonC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,553
    Wow...love your sew/storage set up...what a great DAD you have :) :)

    I live the center 9 patches too. Looks like a really fun quilt :) The second set seems best, maybe more organized is the correct term.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Brazen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    338
    Thanks!!! I am SO fortunate that my Dad made it for me. I forgot to mention, too, that we made the bottom row of shelving the perfect height for quilting magazines and pattern books to stand upright like a library shelf... and then all the other shelves aren't quite as tall.

    I've made and sewn together 6 of the 9-patches now!!! Sticking with the color scheme of like colors in each.

    Mine will be a king size tho, unlike the quilt in the sample pic up there. :D

  9. #9
    Super Member Harmony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brea, California
    Posts
    4,395
    Your quilt is adorable; I really like it. Only a dad or a husband would make something as awesome as your sewing cabinet. Give you dad a big old kiss; he deserves it!

  10. #10
    Super Member Janstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cashmere, Wa.
    Posts
    3,951
    Great looking sewing area! You have a superdad!! Love the polka dots and the design you are doing.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.