Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50

Thread: Need your opinions on another UFO

  1. #1
    Super Member pollyjvan9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    3,027
    Blog Entries
    1

    Need your opinions on another UFO

    I did the middle of this about 3 years ago in a class on Trip Around the World. Decided I really, really didn't like the colors I had chosen. Let it sulk in a closet until sometime last year and decided to add the white borders and feathers and use it at Christmas. With these colors that is all I could think of. Now I am wondering if I need the feathers on the sides, or do you think just on the ends looks alright. I have been practicing on FMQ feathers, maybe they could go on the plain borders. What is your opinion? Thanks everyone.

    Sorry, it really takes me a long time to post pictures now. Oh, and my GGS was telling me what all the colors were. He said he really really like this quilt!
    Attached Images Attached Images Click to view large image 
    Last edited by pollyjvan9; 11-15-2011 at 07:36 AM. Reason: Adding comments

  2. #2
    Super Member BrendaY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,815
    Blog Entries
    6
    Beautiful quilt.... and I love the feathers! They add interest to the sides of this quilt.. Good work!

  3. #3
    Super Member BrendaY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,815
    Blog Entries
    6
    The little guy in the picture is adorable...

  4. #4
    Super Member ChildoftheUniverse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,164
    I really like the feathers on the side and give a hug to that cutie who seems to know what he likes!
    We are star dust, we are golden!

  5. #5
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    13,150
    It's gorgeous! (so is that little guy!)

  6. #6
    Super Member fivepaws's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    1,838
    I love the feathers. Really looks like alot of work. And the cute little model shows it off perfectly.

  7. #7
    Super Member Mad Mimm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,135
    I like the idea of FMQ feathers on the plain borders. It would be a nice tie-in to the applique feathers (which are lovely by the way!) I like it. I have to agree though, I did think Christmas when I saw the colors. Not in a bad way, more of a Santa taking a trip around the world way. Pretty quilt!!!
    Sheila N.

    When Thomas Edison invented the light bulb, he tried over 2000 experiments before he got it to work. A young reporter asked him how it felt to fail so many times. He said, "I never failed once. I invented the light bulb. It just happened to be a 2000 step process."

  8. #8
    Junior Member sampson001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Penrith NSW Australia
    Posts
    225
    Blog Entries
    2
    Beautiful quilt, make a lovely quilt for christmas with the red and green. Leave the feathers looks great.

  9. #9
    Super Member LucyInTheSky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,783
    I think it's good as is. I like the idea of FMQ feathers in the blank borders, but I wouldn't add more fabric feathers
    Nothing's a mistake. It's a learning experience. Some experiences, you learn more than others.

  10. #10
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    23,771
    Very pretty. cute GGS.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.