Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Opinion about cornerstone

  1. #1
    Junior Member dallen4350's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    277

    Opinion about cornerstone

    As you can see, I made a square in square cornerstone for this memory quilt. But it just seems to float too close to edge of the quilt to me. I'm wondering if I should just leave it out, switch the red and blue colors of the cornerstone, or do something entirely different. Your opinion please.

    BTW: the reason the red and blue were positioned so the red color was another "diamond".
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Deb
    (If you are going to be a bear, you may as well be a grizzly.)

  2. #2
    Member KyStitcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Russellville, KY
    Posts
    43
    Looks great! But will you lose the points when binding goes on? Can another border maybe of red be added so not to lose tips of points? Just my take on it! Looks beautiful w/cornerstone

  3. #3
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,362
    I agree it looks beautiful with the cornorstone!

  4. #4
    Senior Member Selena's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southern MS
    Posts
    606
    I see your point and I would switch the red and blue on the cornerstone. I think it would anchor it in place and go very nicely with the rest of the quilt. It's a beautiful quilt.
    Quilt-Dancer

    "​Never the less....."
    (Katherine Hepburn in The African Queen)




  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    1,892
    I like it without the cornerstone. It brings your eyes to the main quilt. But that is MHO only. It is beautiful either way, and thanks for sharing.
    learn each and every day,memories or play.

  6. #6
    Super Member tesspug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,254
    Your quilt is very dramatic. IMHO the detail is too small to match the scale of the blocks. It is very delicate ad seems to get lost. Perhaps just an on point red square in its place.
    I promise not to buy any more fabric until I see something I really like. Or it's on sale. Or I think it might match something.

  7. #7
    Super Member KarenK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, Minnesota
    Posts
    1,836
    Blog Entries
    8
    I would use either no cornerstone or a red square on point.

  8. #8
    Super Member laurafet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,784
    I like it, but have the same concern as KyStitcher.

  9. #9
    Power Poster gabeway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    10,461
    I think the cornerstone works.
    Wayne & Gabriele, the married quilters.

  10. #10
    Senior Member pinkcastle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by tesspug View Post
    Your quilt is very dramatic. IMHO the detail is too small to match the scale of the blocks. It is very delicate ad seems to get lost. Perhaps just an on point red square in its place.
    I agree with tesspug. The cornerstone is a bit distracting.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.