Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Opinion on the border for my quilt here.

  1. #1
    Super Member girliegirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Palmer Township, PA
    Posts
    1,651
    Blog Entries
    1
    This is my first log cabin and second completed quilt top. ( then I got nutty with the fruit one! I am doing a small border of red around my quilt, followed by the darkest green as in the picture. Should I leave it at two? and then the binding should be the darkest green or should I go back to the red, which is the chimney or heart that you call it. Opinions and or advise.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Senior Member MawMaw B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Smithville, Texas
    Posts
    679
    Red binding on it would frame it out nicely. Just my opinion.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Opal Jane's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    871
    I would do the small red border followed by small green border. I also would do the binding is green. You don't want the borders to compete with the quilt.

  4. #4
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,323
    Blog Entries
    2
    I would do a narrow red border, a wider beige border, then bind in the dark green. I would make the beige wider than the strips used for the log cabin blocks.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Phenix City, Alabama
    Posts
    674
    i would border it a narrow red or use the red for the binding. beautiful job.

  6. #6
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13,788
    Everyone will have a totally different idea! Do what is best for you.

    Something so glorious as your quilt ... I'd let it be itself, and have the log cabins go right to the edge. Skip the borders, and then a simple binding with your dark green.

  7. #7
    Super Member Ripped on Scotch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,195
    I would leave it at the 2 borders and bind in the same green. I wouldn't want it to take away from the center.

  8. #8
    Super Member Kitsapquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Port Orchard WA
    Posts
    2,292
    Quote Originally Posted by PaperPrincess
    I would do a narrow red border, a wider beige border, then bind in the dark green. I would make the beige wider than the strips used for the log cabin blocks.
    I agree with PP on the borders! It is a great log cabin!

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    1,010
    I like your first idea the best.

  10. #10
    BMP
    BMP is online now
    Super Member BMP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,502
    Blog Entries
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Ripped on Scotch
    I would leave it at the 2 borders and bind in the same green. I wouldn't want it to take away from the center.
    Thats my opinion too !!! OR no boarders and just bound.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.