Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Opinions needed, please! Custom 9 patch quilt

  1. #1
    Senior Member KellyPA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lancaster, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    614

    Opinions needed, please! Custom 9 patch quilt

    Ok I'm making this for a friend who created the idea in her head and I'm hoping I got it translated to fabric correctly. I want to mail it to her tomorrow, so I'm feeling a little rushed to get it done.

    I think I have decided to not use sashing. I think it will take away from the squares to have material in between.

    My question? How would you quilt it? I have never been good at the quilting part and I don't want to make it too busy with too much quilting. What color thread should I use for the quilting?

    Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images Click to view large image 

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Greenville, South Carolina
    Posts
    1,468
    Blog Entries
    1
    It's gonna be a cute quilt. I think I would use green thread on the green squares and natural on the natural squares. Definitely outline quilt all of your applique.

  3. #3
    Senior Member KellyPA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lancaster, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    614
    Every square has a meaning.... Superwoman Logo, because she is superwoman, soccer ball for coaching soccer, the school logos for volunteering at the schools, the church because of her faith and work at her church, the juggler because she juggles it all. The vase has the flowers for all the family members birth months, the yellow rose for friendship, and the buttercup for cheerfulness :-)

  4. #4
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    18,544
    Your blocks are beautiful! I don't think I'd put sashing between them either. I would probably add a border to the edge in the green? For the quilting, I would use cream or off white thread (looks like that is what the lt. squares are?). I would outline the main motifs and put a little quilting inside them on the details if the batt has a required quilting distance. If I had lots of time I would do ripple quilting out from the motifs. If you are pressed for time I would do a large meander in the background beyond the motif outlines. It will be beautiful with whatever you decide!

  5. #5
    Senior Member KellyPA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lancaster, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    614
    Thank you both for the opinions. Right now I'm squaring up those squares and sewing them together. The room has no heat or insulation, so I'm going 3 squares and coming into where it is warm. The picture isn't great, sorry about that. The material is white. Oh how I wish I was better at quilting! thanks again!

  6. #6
    Super Member thimblebug6000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    4,519
    If you could stitch around each shape and then in the ditch. Then use masking tape as a guide & stitch a diagonal grid, I think it would really enhance your blocks. A green Blendable Thread by Sulky would really make it!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Kentucky Wildcat Country Go Big Blue
    Posts
    786
    Blog Entries
    2
    I would match the quilting thread with the background of the block and definetly outline the design and stipple or meander in the solid part around the design. I would also stitch in the ditch where the blocks are sewed together to make a finished look to the block. It's beautiful whichever way you decide to go.
    Let us see the finished product when you get it done.

    sassy granny

  8. #8
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    23,760
    Very cute, I for sure put a border on it to make it bigger and to frame it. No idea on the color to use and I would FMQ it as I do most of my quilts. Just my opinions.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  9. #9

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.