Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: opinions please

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    56
    Blog Entries
    1

    opinions please

    I'm making a Ribbon of Hope quilt for a friend, (rail fence with a ribbon of hope in the middle). Well I came to the part when I was attaching my last 3 rows to the middle of the quilt, and the rows do not match up. If I adjust the seams going up and down, then the bottom section becomes 1/4 in too small.. My question is, if I adjust the bottom section to fit, trim the above sections by 1/4 of an inch, on the right side, I think I should trim the left side by 1/4 inch. I will be putting a 2 inch border, then a 4 inch border on as well.

    Doing this pattern, 6 - 6 1/2 in. square accross, 8 6 1/2 in squares down, but with a 12 in square ribbon in the centre, there are a lot of seams to match. I have 3 rows above the ribbon and 3 rows below. I put 4 squares together to make a larger square, then added the last 2 squares (sewn together) to make 6 inch block. I really don't know where I went wrong. I took a picture and I can't get that to copy here. I has not been a great day.

    My colors are purple/pink, light pink with the ribbon, and white. My first border is going to be white, the second, is purple/pink. The right side of the quilt top is mostly white and the left side is mostly purple/pink.

    If anyone understands all this, would you please give me your opinion. Thanks for reading this.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    56
    Blog Entries
    1

    opinionplease ( part 2)

    I see the picture did get attached. Also the part that is not straight is where I have pinned it, trying to decide what to do.

  3. #3
    Senior Member hensandhollyhocks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    812
    Are you pressing your sewn pieces? It looks to me if you do that, and then keep the seems matched as you have, you could "work" it just a little and it will all come out close enough to add the border.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Central NY
    Posts
    659
    It's hard to tell since you haven't pressed it,....but....could you take off the last vertical row of three on the bottom and sew them back on with a narrower seam. That was the edge might line up with the rest of that side.

  5. #5
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    19,233
    If it's only out a 1/4 inch, I would put the longer side to the feed dogs and put the shorter piece on top and try sewing it together. A little bit out on the seam lines shouldn't be too noticeable and the feed dogs help ease in extra fabric. Or you can just trim the 1/4 inch off on the one side that is long. It won't be perfect but chances are you'll be the only one to notice it. It looks awesome!

  6. #6
    Member Beulah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Stephens City, VA
    Posts
    39
    I have pressed seams that did not quite match and with a little stretching or sewing in the opposite direction I could make it work. I stretch just a bit - pin - and press right before I sew. Usually you cannot tell and the result is close enough.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    306
    Quote Originally Posted by love to quilt View Post
    Doing this pattern, 6 - 6 1/2 in. square accross, 8 6 1/2 in squares down, but with a 12 in square ribbon in the centre, there are a lot of seams to match. I have 3 rows above the ribbon and 3 rows below. I put 4 squares together to make a larger square, then added the last 2 squares (sewn together) to make 6 inch block. I really don't know where I went wrong. I took a picture and I can't get that to copy here. I has not been a great day.
    Just wondering -- Does your bottom part of 3 rows match your top part of 3 rows? If so, then your problem is in the middle group. Is your ribbon of hope block exactly the same size as your block of 4 rails? If not, fix the ribbon to match up, either by trimming or changing the width of the white border. Good luck, Ann

  8. #8
    Senior Member dcquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    951
    Don't agonize over it! It is beautiful, and you will be the only one who will notice the imperfections!

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,258
    Did you square up your blocks before sewing your rows together?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    western NC
    Posts
    489
    Quote Originally Posted by Beulah View Post
    I have pressed seams that did not quite match and with a little stretching or sewing in the opposite direction I could make it work. I stretch just a bit - pin - and press right before I sew. Usually you cannot tell and the result is close enough.
    This is what I have done also. Thankfully, fabric is pretty forgiving. Also, Tartan's suggestion of putting the longer side down against the feed dogs works for me a lot of the time.

    Pat

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.