Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
penguins >

penguins

penguins

Old 01-03-2011, 09:15 PM
Banned

I have the material below. My daughter is really into penguins and has been hinting for a quilt...well her 18th is on the 15th so I thought why not....I just can't decide how to put it together.

I have 2 shade of yellow; 2 shades of blue; white; black and grey to match the penguin material.

Any suggestions - remember I'm a newbie and the hard stuff hasn't been practiced yet....

I thought about squares on the diagonal but I've done so many squares recently it seems unimginative.
Attached Thumbnails attachment-152964.jpe  
Old 01-03-2011, 09:20 PM
Power Poster

Location: Murray, Ky. Looking for a nice cushy pillow to rest my head on!

How about a pinwheel or a 9 patch or maybe a square in a square. Go to quilterscache.com for block ideas.
Old 01-03-2011, 09:20 PM
Banned

ok square in a square? new to me but I'm going to check out the website you recommended - be back in a few!
Old 01-03-2011, 09:26 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by cjomomma
How about a pinwheel or a 9 patch or maybe a square in a square. Go to quilterscache.com for block ideas.
I like the carpenters wheel pattern - is it super hard to do?

I think where I am having trouble is the color layout.
Old 01-03-2011, 09:32 PM

how about a D9P? quick and easy and so much fun!
Old 01-03-2011, 09:33 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by GwynR
how about a D9P? quick and easy and so much fun!
Gwyn - what is a D9P...see I just showed my newbie colors :)
Old 01-03-2011, 09:41 PM
Banned

Just saw a picture on here of what your talking about - that is pretty neat - so you just sew 9 squares together and then cut into 4?
Old 01-03-2011, 10:45 PM

I am working on my first d9p. Be sure to put your larger print in the corners so it doesn't get chopped up.