Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Posting pictures

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    424
    Ok, I did it once but now have a brain f@rt lodged in my head.
    I keep going back to the post on How to post pictures...I uploaded pics to photobucket, clicked new post, clicked attach files, copied and pasted the url and no picture.
    Have no idea what I'm doing wrong...help

    I know, I know you gals have been over this many times with us newbies but for posters like me this picture stuff is over my head.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wichita KS
    Posts
    753
    I don't upload to an offsite storage like webshots or photo bucket. when you want to start a thread of your own with pictures, first click the New Topic button at the top of page on the left side. Next to the submit button is the attach files button. Click that one. You'll get another box that says File Attachment Panel. Click the Browse button. You should get a pop up of whats on your own computer. I go to Pictures on mine (runniing Vista). I sort down till I find the picture I want then double click the picture itself. The long box to the left of the browse button will fill in the information on your picture. To add another picture, click the add another file button and do the same thing again. You can do this 3 times to add 3 pictures to your post. When you have all of your pictures added, click the submit button. It will take a few moments for the files to transfer. While you are adding those pictures, at the same time you can put in a brief description of your photo in the Description box. If you choose the wrong picture, just click Remove, then choose another picture before you hit the final submit. If you want to change a picture AFTER you've hit submit, go to your POSTED thread and choose edit (it has the little scissors/paper icon). You'll get a similar box with all of your posting. Go down and choose the remove file button next to the picture you want to get rid of. then hit Add another file button and add the picture you want. Hit Submit again, wait for the picture to load and you should be good to go :) I know various computers and their operating systems are different in how this works, but this allows me to bypass having to upload to offsite storage and load my pictures straight from my computer.

  3. #3
    Super Member Moonpi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    4,852
    Why are you complicating things by adding Photobucket? Just upload from your computer. As long as the file size is not too big, you should be fine.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    424
    I have a tendency to complicate things in my life :wink:
    Brain f@rt still hanging around...I think my pics are too large.
    I'm not even gonna ask how to do that.
    Maybe I can find a 4 year old in the neighborhood to do it for me. lol.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wichita KS
    Posts
    753
    Auntluc, what program are you using on your computer to access your pictures and what operating system do you have?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    424
    Oh boy, this is embarrassing! :oops:
    I have Windows XP Home version and my pictures are all stored on a 2gb media card in my digital camera, not on my hard drive in my computer.
    I view and access the pics thru Windows Media.

  7. #7
    Super Member Moonpi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Central FL
    Posts
    4,852
    babeegirl,
    When you have the picture open in Windows, does it give you the option of saving a copy?

    I would be very wary of keeping all my photos in the camera, where it could be affected by heat, moisture, getting lost or stolen, etc. When you plug your camera in, does it let you back up files to a folder?

    auntluc - are you able to attach to mail? If you can, pm me, and I will send you my addy and post them.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wichita KS
    Posts
    753
    Moonpi, it's Auntluc that stores hers in her camera. I store my recent ones in my Pictures folder then back them up to the external HD to keep the computer uncluttered.

    Auntluc, let me do some research on XP and changing the jpeg sizes in your pictures. I will PM you with what I find. I know there's a way but it doesn't come to mind right away since I've used Vista for a while now. I'm on XP at work and will play with it to find an answer for you today.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wichita KS
    Posts
    753
    ok, we have Microsoft photo editor here at work. When I open a picture with that, across the top is ...file, edit, view, image, effects, tools window, help. When I click on image I get a drop down that has resize as an option. I don't know if this is the same for Windows Media. My suggestion would be to create a folder called Resized in your Pictures, then make a copy of the picture and save it in that folder. It should say something like copy1of yadyada.jpg. Open that one up in Windows Media, see if you can change the size on that image tab and save it. This way you retain the original size on your picture but also have a resized copy of same picture. In other words, when you have a picture opened in Media, right click it, choose copy, then open up the newly made Resized folder you made in Pictures, when that is opened, right click anywhere in there and choose paste. Voila! picture is copied to your Resized folder without disturbing the original.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.