Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   Coke Tray Liner (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/coke-tray-liner-t26594.html)

Tracy_Lit5 10-06-2009 03:31 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Well I finished my project...finally.
I made PLENTY of mistakes, but at least I've learned from them
This is my first attempt at flying geese and sewing several small sections together.

Question:
why is it that the more pieces I sew together the more it distorts the dimensions? I pressed all my seams and pieces before adding another section/row but it still got distorted.

The tray is from an old cafeteria, and has become a "catch-all" try instead.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]51428[/ATTACH]

RedGarnet222 10-06-2009 07:43 AM

I don't see any distortion. But, one trick is, Don't use any steam while pressing and never, never rub on the bias edges. They grow (stretch)when you do. Before you cut anything bias out use a heavy starch on it, this helps to set them in place better.

It is fun to see the coca cola stuff. Do you collect it?

Debbie1 10-06-2009 08:26 AM

You did a great job!

sewnsewer2 10-06-2009 08:28 AM

Good job! We are somewhat coke collectors too. I have a timer, straw container, napkin holder (the old fashioned).

Lisanne 10-06-2009 08:32 AM

That's cute!

Originally Posted by Tracy_Lit5
Question: why is it that the more pieces I sew together the more it distorts the dimensions? I pressed all my seams and pieces before adding another section/row but it still got distorted.

Having experienced this myself, it's really true that those little "negligible" errors add up. Re-measure each time you sew two sets of sewn pieces together, and finesse by matching them up at the inner seam lines, not the outer ones, when you find discrepancies.

joeyoz 10-06-2009 09:03 AM